Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages. While others believe that would be a waste of money.

There has been a growing trend that some languages will disappear in the future. The topic of whether governments should spend money on protecting them is of great concern to many people. In my view, public money should be used for more important things. There are many reasons why supporters claim minority languages should be preserved. The first one is that each language represents a type of culture which means the culture will disappear with the passing of this language. For instance, in recent decades there has been a decreasing trend of people who can speak the Ewenki language, so the famous Shaman culture is gradually disappearing. Another consideration is that there are a variety of songs, stories and books recorded in some language, so no one can understand this data if nobody knows the language. However, I believe that governments should pay more attention to more important things. Firstly, in order to prevent the loss of these languages, a considerable amount of money has to be used for hiring teachers, building new classrooms and printing relative books. In addition, governments have to invest continuously in maintaining these facilities. Another important reason is that various languages, especially small languages, obstruct the communication of different cultures, and further block the development of trade. The spending that governments use for translating and communication is significantly higher than preserving these languages. So, instead of spending money on saving languages, it's better to just record them completely now. In conclusion, languages inherit certain cultures that will vanish once these languages disappear, but we can save and restore them by spending less money. I support the statement that governments should spend money on others.