Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. with this statement?

The government spends a considerable amount of money on infrastructure every year. However, the question to spend money on railways rather than roads remains debatable. This essay will discuss the reasons why the authorities should prioritize roads over railways when it comes to spending money. Firstly, roads are the most basic infrastructure requirement in any country, as for people it is the best medium to cover short distances. On a day-to-day basis, for instance, people need proper roads to commute to their respective workplaces or educational institutes. Thus, roads serves as the best way for people to go from one place to another in a short duration. Secondly, in comparison to any other medium, roads serves as the cheapest way to travel. People don't have to pay anything or maybe a small amount to use roads to travel. While on the other hand, railways are considered to be best if someone wants to cover a larger area of land while travelling, which is not always possible when it comes to roads. However, railways do not only cost more to the commuters but also the government as it requires a lot of amount to run and maintain. For example, railways consumes a lot of fuel to run and is high maintaince, therefore, it costs more to the government. Hence, considering that railways have lesser advantages than roads when it comes to serve the people of the country, the government should spend money on the latter.