Government should spend money on railway rather than roads

Fast & safe transportation system and improved communication are two important aspects of the development of a country. Every government works for it citizens to commute safely and quickly while businesses also depend on a solid transportation system. Thus when the question arises whether a government should focus on improving its railways or roads, people seem like have divided opinions. I personally agree that a government should spend more money on railways system. Fast of all, railways offer safe commuting both for the citizens and traders. The numbers of road accidents and highway casualties in many countries are far higher than that of the railway casualties. Thus investing more on a safe way of commuting is a much more prudent idea. Rails cause comparatively less environmental damage while the road vehicles are the main reason for increasing pollution around the world. Second, rails can carry hundreds of people and several hundred tonnes of goods while road transports can carry only a few. Some shuttle trains are many times faster than that of private cars and public buses. Thus improved railways would save peoples’ valuable time every day. Thirdly, rail lines are usually away from the main cities and that is why some busy cities have no other alternatives than to improve their rail transportation system. Express trains can reduce the traffic congestion in many cities and more investment to improve the railway is the only possible solutions in cities where a large number of people live in. Finally, the population of the world is increasing rapidly and that is why investing more money on faster and dependable transportation system is more logical than investing in the older transportation system. Railways will be future in transportation and investment on it is the better choice for any government. In conclusion, I believe that a government, either in a developed or a developing country, should invest to build a safer, faster and more reliable transportation system and the railway, for this reason, should get a priority.