government pay for education and healthcare

There is a controversial statement heating a debate whether the government fund education and healthcare. I would contend that the national budget should be allocated on schooling and healthcare system, but I also believe that people should be responsible for their own education and health condition. Without a shadow of a doubt, the authorities should pay for the treatment cost and learning expenditure. Since people fulfill their compulsory taxes, they should get something in return like free medication and schooling for their children. For instance, in many countries in Europe, specifically Poland, the leadership will foot the tuition bill for any children under 18 years old to promote families allow their kids to go to school and eradicate illiteracy. In Norway, medical expenses for non-danger diseases such as flu, headache and fever will be paid by the executive. Therefore, national budget should be spend on tuition and medical care. Despite having such immense impact for the citizens, I think that the government should not always pay for these costs, but only in some circumstances, people should be account for their own problems at some point. For example, in the early days of COVID-19 in Vietnam, the authority promised to pay for the quarantine cost, which was not really necessary. This made the national budget deteriorate drastically, and people kept relying on the government. I support the fact that the government should invest the national budget on education and medication, but i also believe that people should be responsible with their own life.