Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Government is the main entity that governs the country. The progress and status of the country are reflected by the work done by the government. The prompt suggests that instead of unquestioningly following all the commands of officials higher up in the hierarchy. Government officials should rely on their own judgment. I don't completely agree with this statement and believe that a government official should follow his/her orders but should question and act against those commands which seem immoral and corrupt. Firstly, while forming rules and policies the government mostly takes into account the welfare of the majority of people. Being the main governing body of the country or state, such policies are made in a holistic manner. If every government official relies on their own judgment rather than following the instruction provided, it will do more harm than good as the judgment of each individual government official may vary, thus leading to a disordered and unpredictable system that will inevitably lead to chaos. A structured and uniform system should be followed which is applicable to most civilians encompassing some exceptional cases so that minorities will not be left behind. For example, in many countries - especially Asian countries - during the entrance exams for government jobs or applying to government universities, everyone should take the same exam but there are certain quotas for the minority especially people belonging to minority caste. However, if some government official thinks this is unjust and such quotas should not exist and changes the exam rules accordingly without understanding why such quotas were created, will do more harm than good. Such a decision may lead to a severe backlash and protest from the people belonging to the minority castes. However, there may be instances where a government official may receive some immoral and biased instruction from officials above them in the hierarchy. During such scenarios, it is the duty of the government official to question and act against such instructions. These situations arise when instructions are received from corrupt officials or there is a major flaw in the policies created, whichever the case, such instructions should be revolted against. If voices are not raised against such instructions, similar situations will proliferate in the future. For example, in Nepal, the civilians faced more than a decade of power cuts due to corruption. The managing director of the national electricity association had been selling the electricity generated illegally to other countries. This continued for a decade as government officials working under the director did not question and act against such unethical behavior. Only after a decade, the situation came to light. In conclusion, government officials should carry out the instructions assigned to them unless the received instructions are immoral or biased; such instructions should be questioned and be acted against.