Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

Issues related to government spending on arts are frequently discussed these days, especially in the media. It is often said that same investments must be made for civil services rather than music and theatre. This essay examines arguments both for and against expenditure on arts by the government. On one hand, proponents of arts are of the opinion that younger generation does not pursue arts as a career choice. This is mostly because, only mainstreams subjects like Science, Technology, Engineering and Medicines are thought to bring good salaries. While, this is not wholly untrue, government investing money in ventures related to music and theatre can give these fields the required push to turn them into attractive employment sources. Not only this, arts also help us preserve our culture. For example, local theatre that plays folk music would be lost to history if not for the endeavors of people interested in arts. As such, it is a matter of high import that government must lend their support to such theatres in any way possible. On the other hand, the opponents argue that government must prioritize the wellness of public above all else. They expect authorities to make decisions that will allow society to lead a comfortable life. Therefore, these people want the government to invest in public wellbeing and spend their budgets on construction of schools, colleges and roads. This will help in uplifting the nation as a whole. For example, the government must first invest in building a school and later think of investing in setting up music as subject with in the same school. In conclusion, though I agree that investments must be made towards arts, the advantages of having public services outweigh the advantages of having theatre. Government must make conscious decisions and must prioritize public services over arts wherever necessary.