Some countries invest in specialized sports facilities for top athletes but not for the average people. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent times, some countries allocate money for professional athletic facilities which are intended for athletes but not for ordinary people. This tendency is caused by one main reason and leads to one benefit; however, in my opinion negative outcomes are more significant. + Investing money in the area of athletic sports influences two aspects in a country in a positive way. Firstly, competitive environment might be created inside countries; this is because when people observe that government takes care of sportspeople, then it will draw attention of other young people too, thereby resulting in more individuals being interested in sports. Secondly, investment for athletes is also crucial for representation of a country in an international level, in the sense that athletes from a particular country win the game in Olympic games, with that country becoming to be known more by foreigners. However, I think, before caring about country’s development in the area of sports, government firstly should distribute money for its citizens for addressing certain issues. Firstly, almost every citizen pays taxes to government assuming that it will be reallocated efficiently for social issues to make lives of citizens better. For example, lack of access to parks, environmental pollution, gender inequality, access to healthcare, education and the military are more crucial issues than sports. Choose one and explain! Next, obviously, economic development stays ahead of investment in sports. To clarify, increasing living standards and solving unemployment problems play a significant role in countries’ growth. So, therefore, government expenditures for citizens are more important than for the development of sport. Next, obviously, countries should prioritize development of economy of their country. This is particularly due to the fact that economic development stays in the centre of everything as every achievement or development in countries stems from economic improvements and innovations. To illustrate, Germany, having a developed economy, has significantly improved its education, healthcare systems, along with showing high performance during international sporting events.