Goverments should spend money on railway rather than roads

Railways and roads cost a substantial amount of money to maintain and build. Some people believe that spending more money on railways would be more efficient. This essay will discuss why allocating more money to railways would be beneficial for these countries. We will start by showing why more people would benefit more from increased maintenance as well as improvements to the railway compared to roads and then how this would impact the less fortunate. The amount of people taking trains has decreased significantly over the past century on account of the lowering of prices of fuel, and cars along with the now widespread use of airplanes. While this has been going on the railways have suffering, despite this the amount of people who would be willing to use them ever increases as most people are turning to most environmentally friendly ways of travel. Roads are a most useful tool of any nation, but because you will only be able to use them provided you have access to some mode of transportation, since more and more people choose not to, roads are not accessible to all and therefore not benefitted by all. Railways in some countries are falling into a state of disrepair, because of this many countries such as England have decided to privatise them to reduce costs. Instead of a success this has been a failure, ticket prices have gone up and conditions on trains have gotten worse. This situation has affected the poorest of the nation, which then struggle to get to work, since trains are the fastest way to travel and by far the most connected in most countries, the benefits of cheaper tickets due to increased funding would be enormous as it would have an impact on the most in need and provide a sure way of travel for all. Benefits of increasing the funding of railways are enormous, while there may be downsides this would help the country’s infrastructure and be an inclusive way of travel for all while having very few downsides.