Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

It is insisted that only legal sanctions can promote the rate of recycling in homes, which has failed to reach the appropriate level. In my opinion, this may help; however, more measures are required to encourage recycling. Legal regulations can be an efficient solution to promote recycling. They can have an instant impact on people’s participation in recycling. When the government makes recycling a legal requirement, the public will consciously and deliberately engage in recycling as part of their duties and will be cautious about their behaviours. To illustrate, when the related legislation comes into effect, people, who used to put the garbage out without bothering to recycle it, would abide by the rules to avoid fines and blames. Thus, more garbage can be collected and turned into products through recycling. Along with legal sanctions, the government has to increase the public’s awareness of the correlation between their behaviour and the environmental degradation. It can have a long-term influence on the public’s awareness and behaviour. Even if legal regulations come into effect, the monetary fines could be of a small amount and many people will continue to throw garbage out. Therefore, people’s awareness should be enhanced for them to voluntarily join recycling for a long term. In conclusion, legal regulations have been suggested to encourage people to get involved in recycling more actively. I contend that legal measures can bring forth instant improvement in recycling and, at the same time, more campaigns should be arranged to influence people’s participation in recycling for an extended period.