Good morning, my name is Armando Yosef Gaytan Martinez and today I will talk about the life of Jackie Robinson.

Good morning, my name is Armando Yosef Gaytan Martinez and today I will talk about the life of Jackie Robinson. Jackie was the grandson of a slave and the youngest of six children of a farmer, who left the family six months after his birth. He grew up in Pasadena, California, when his mother moved there in 1920 to search a better future for her children. He entered UCLA, where he excelled in four sports disciplines (athletics, basketball, soccer, and baseball). Later, he entered the military in World War II. By 1945, he was playing in the Negro League for the Kansas City Monarchs. April 15, 1947 became a big date for Jackie Robinson in the Major Leagues, as it was the day he debuted. Although he didn't score any hits, he got the winning run. He was very important to the Dodgers reaching six World Series, out of the ten seasons he was part of the team. In December 1956 he moved to the New York Giants but a month later he announced his retirement. In the 1972 World Series he again appeared before the public, sick with diabetes and almost blind. He died days later, on October 24, 1972.