Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public place. (ARGUMENT)

In modern times, the issue of smoking in public places has become highly controversial. There are those who say that smoking in public places should be banned, however other believe that it should not. In this essay I will examine both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion. Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why people believe that government and municipalities should forbid smoking in public places, such as restaurants, hospitals and train stations. Perhaps the main reason why people are in favor of this idea because cigarette smoke is carcinogenic for the people who breath it. A good illustration of this is that people who smoke lot and secondary smokers can develop serious illness such as lung cancer. A further point in favor of banning smoking in public spaces is that the smoke from cigarette smells terrible. If you stand next to someone who is smoking, your clothes and hair will smell like tobacco smoke for the rest of the day. Despite the arguments, there is also a case for the idea that smoking in public spaces should be allowed. The main reason why people think that this is a good idea is because it could negatively affect some business, such as bars, restaurants and night clubs. As a result, many people could lose their job. Secondly, the government could lose a lot of tax money from cigarettes. This is because less people would buy cigarettes, and so pay less tax on them. In conclusion this is a topic which is very relevant to modern society. Despite argument to the contrary, I feel very strongly that we should ban smoking in all public spaces. If the government implements this policy, we will have a healthier and cleaner society.