The importance of biodiversity is being more widely recognized as increasing numbers of species come under threat. Why is species loss occurring? What are the potential effect of this?

An increasing concern of many people around the world is that the number of plants and animals which have become extinct has increased greatly. The causes of this phenomenon are varied and have lead a wide range of effect on human life. I will outline in this essay why species loss is occurring, and discuss the impacts which can have on people and the world. Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why various species of flora and fauna are disappearing. The primary cause of this phenomenon is deforestation and illegal logging. This is due to an enormous demand for land for farming which has resulted in a loss of habitat for wild animals and plants. Secondly, biodiversity can also be negatively affected by pollution. for example, emissions from vehicles, aircraft, factories and industrial parks contribute to global warming. Which in turn leads to the destruction of animal and plant life. The results of species loss are numerous and potentially serious. Perhaps the most serious consequence is that plant are a valuable source of medicines. If we loss these medicine, we will not able to treat or cure many diseases. A second consequence is that food security could be affected. If we lose many marine species this will affect the health and well-being of many millions of people who depend on the ocean as their source of food. In conclusion, the extinction of plants and animals is an issue which will continue to demand our attention for the foreseeable future. If government agencies and individuals do not work together to solve this problem, the well-being of future generation could be affected.