Going Digital: Implications for Firm Value and Performance

During the start of the industrial revolution to the end of the 19th century all businesses were mainly focused on human intensive labour for growth, success, efficiency and productivity  to achieve their long term aim and all entrepreneurial  goals along the way. But a change in this mindset was introduced at the start of 1990, s as the world was moving towards more better options to cater business objectives in terms of minimizing failures of risk and achieving goals of the company in a more productive and efficient way. Thus, The introduction of IT or a way for the business world to move towards a different path which is known as the digitisation. From the start of the era of the internet which gave multiple platforms to other startups to take a risk for investment in IT, such as the likes of Apple, Microsoft, Google, facebook and others opportunistics startups. Which have been rewarded handsomely by becoming global giants in today's digital business market with valuations of above trillion dollars valuations. The world in today's century is becoming more globalized day by day and now it is not a want but necessity for any business whether startup, small or established to adopt and invest in IT for efficient productivity and risk taking ability to guarantee more chances of being competitive or successfull in this highly demanding market.   According to multiple research studies that a firm's market value  goes above 18 to 20% which are highly investing large sums on capital on digitisation, research and development compared to others which don't follow the same route as it is estimated that the chances of these firms future performance and high returns increases with adapting to digitisation approach. However, It is easy for large established firms with vast numbers of resources to invest huge amounts in IT compared to small firms or businesses passing the survival stage and are reluctant to waste their capital and take a risk to dry out their cash flows in order to cater to this costly approach. Which means it would be hard for these businesses to survive and compete with these monopolistic companies in and are at high risk of being driven out of the market. Another alarming concern for firms to adapt to this approach is to know whether their human labour is capable of handling these kind of technologies, As if the firm's labour is used to the old ways of working before digitisation took place in such a large scale that means firm's will have to invest more in training their employees to learn the ways of using the digital equipment. This approach could also lead to unemployment increasing in economies which we are getting used to nowadays as multiple companies are preferring capital intensive approaches compared to labour intensive. In the long term maybe these businesses can achieve high performance and growth but in the short team they will have to incur high cost worth of billions of dollars for investment in digitisation and will have to cover it up with topping their sales chart and going towards unrealistic goals which can put the company under pressure or can get into a huge debt which could lead towards bankruptcy. Lastly, This is no excuse in any way for giving up on digitisation as the world is becoming more competitive day by day and in order to compete at a high level and maintain your place in this market change has to be adopted no matter how risky or daring it is. So, Companies have to be more strategic and plan out their approach thoroughly by taking into account their decisions and consequences this will cause in the long term and short term. As this will handle these businesses to deal with any problem arising intelligently and provide solutions in a more efficient way before reaching their desired valuation and performance when digitisation has fully become an integrated part of their firm.