Globalization has had a considerable effect on the world in the last few decades.

Globalization has had a considerable effect on the world in the last few decades. While some people believe that these effects are all positive it can also be argued that globalization is destroying the identity of many countries in the world. This is because aspects of our lives such as entertainment, communication, products and business are similar in many parts of the world. This essay will argue that globalization is destroying national identity for three reasons. Firstly, in terms of entertainment young people are less interested in their local culture and this could have dangerous consequences. If young people do not know about their cultural heritage they will not understand the older generation. As a result, there could be serious communication breakdowns within cultures. In addition, globalization has produced large corporations which often prevent local businesses from making money. Many people only want to buy branded products from these international companies. Unless governments do something to limit the influence of these companies, local businesses will continue to disappear. Finally, there is the problem of language. Due to globalization English has become the most important language in the world and many languages are beginning to die out. This is a negative aspect of globalization and could have serious consequences in the future. If everyone has to speak English in the future and not their own native language, the way we communicate could start to change in a negative way. In conclusion, globalization is having negative effects on national identity and people should focus more on their local culture. If we allow globalization to continue to dominate local cultures, in the future we will have a better world.