Global warming and climate change

Global warming and climate change are the two most urgent concerns of the world. The warming of the planet is not a forecast, but it is happening. Global warming is basically heating up of the earth's surface due to various reasons such as greenhouse gases, carbon dioxide emissions, deforestation, burning of fossil fuels etc. The reasons are mostly anthropogenic. The enormous demographic explosion created pressure on the land which again led to the demand for various resources, which in turn led to industrialisation and the development of new technologies. These further create pressure on land and the depletion of natural resources such as cutting of trees, burning of fossil fuels etc. The gases released from industries often deplete the ozone layer which protects us from harmful UV rays. These general impacts are caused by climate change. Unequal rainfall results in reduced crop yields, which in turn causes food crises. Often changing weather patterns have resulted in extreme events such as heat waves, landslides, flash floods, drought, etc. Summers are warmer and winters are cooler than they used to be. They have a huge impact on human and animal life that aggravates their lives. Many developed and developing countries have stepped up to address growing climate change through various adaptation and mitigation methods. But this is not the only way to tackle the severe effect of climate change, there is a need for awareness and participation of each individual to fight against this terror of climate change. As a matter of fact, climate change is a weapon of mass destruction.