global tourism has become phenomanal

It is true that tourism has become a global phenomenon over the past few years. Although this trend has some benefits, I would argue that there are more drawbacks. On the one hand, tourism has some positive impacts on different aspects of a country. From the economic perspective, it brings in money. The income generated can make up a significant proportion of both private, local and national income. An increase in tourism opens a door to job ladder for many people as well. It can provide much-needed employment for people in hotel, bars, shops and restaurant. Last but not least, tourism promotes international connections which can bring more business and cultural collaborations in the long term. It can also promote cross-cultural awareness for both locals and tourists, and builds bridges of understanding between cultures. On the other hand, I believe that the disadvantages of tourism are even more significant. Firstly, tourism can often cause environmental damage with risks like erosion, pollution and the loss of natural habitats. Even if tourists behave responsibly, the sheer number of them can cause damage. For example, ancient buildings, monuments and temples in Bagan city of Myanmar, often struggle to cope with increased traffic and suffer inevitable wear-and-tear. Secondly, the commercialization of culture can undermine the soul of a tourist destination, which means local traditions that have a rich cultural heritage are reduced to wearing costumes and putting on acts for the tourists in return for money. Finally, oftentimes, most of the tourism industries in developing countries are owned by massive foreign companies. They make the major profits, leaving local businesses with relatively little benefit. In conclusion, it seems to me that the drawbacks of tourism, in terms of environmental and economic perspectives, do outweigh the benefits.