Global exchange programs is a controversial matter in recent years in the world.

Global exchange programs is a controversial matter in recent years in the world. While some teachers argue that students can reap a great deal of benefits from foreign exchange projects, I am strongly convinced that these procedures are likely to involve more harmful impacts. On one hand, there is no denying that international exchange courses can bring the followers of this trend a wide range of favorable aspects. The most obvious advantage is that when students going abroad to study, they have access to a new culture. As a inevitable results, this trend offer a medium to pupils in broadening their horizon, and hence they gradually develop interpersonal skills such as problem solving skills, communicating and so on. Secondly, another benefit is that living in a different country helps exchange students become more independent. This is because without daily support from their parents, these students have to learn to cook, clean, manage their budgets and make their own decisions. However, I would argue that these benefits are prevailed by the drawbacks. Firstly, on of the main downsides is the culture shock. Exchange students might be faced with unfamiliar customs and different beliefs, which could easily lead to misunderstanding, tension and conflicts. It may be difficult for them to concentrate entirely on their studies when they are struggling to adapt to the new culture. Another disadvantage is that many students are unable to follow their international learning programs, leading to undesirable academic outcomes. Some of my friends, for example, have to re-sit the exams or have difficulties catching up with their lectures due to poor language skills. In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of international exchange projects are more significant than the possible benefits.