Giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others think there are more alternative ways to do it.

In this day and age, delinquency has become more and more serious in many parts of the world. It is often argued that higher imprisonment is the most feasible solution to prevent this trend, whereas others advocate different strategies should be utilised. There is a strong case to be made for both sides of the debate. On the one hand, it is indisputable that prolonging prison time is the most prevalent method to alleviate the crime rate. To be more specific, a long-term prison sentence is more likely to help those who committed crimes to have more time in a bid to be aware of the importance of freedom and relinquish their criminal behaviours. This method is, so the argument goes, attributed to possibly prohibiting those who have an intention to commit offences once. Thanks to this, society can be protected from illegal and hazardous activities, such as assault, murder and terrorism. On the other hand, numerous people suggest that we ought to consider other short-term measures rather than the longer imprisonment. In fact, the causes of the crime rate increase stem from poverty and unemployment, which have not been fully resolved. Thus, the authority should deploy a few policies in order to nudge local businesses and foreign companies to invest money along with creating more occupations for unemployed people. As a result, when the need for labour is boosted, the proportion of people out of work falls and so does the crime rate. To look at a supporting example, one needs to look no further than delinquency in Japan, which was recorded at about 0, 5 from 2000 to 2009. However, when the government loosened regulations for foreign investors and loaned domestic corporations at low interest rates in 2012, this crime rate was only around 0. 3. In conclusion, although a longer imprisonment will help to warn offenders and a few individuals who intend to violate, I hold belief that local governments need to focus more on appealing foreign investors instead of implementing the former.