The world cup is a very important event for soccor fans all over the world. Many countries compete for the honour of hosting this event. In your opinion, what are the major benefits and drawbacks of hosting an international sporting event such as the World Cup?

International events for sports have been increasing rapidly in the past few years. Many countries in the world consider hosting these events as part of their undertaking which has enormous positive aspects, while there are also some drawbacks should be taken into account. On the one hand, becoming a host nation for global events such as the World Cup or Olympics is an crucial opportunity for any country because of economic and infrastructural benefis it brings. Fisrt of all, these events can potentially stimulate the tourism sector which contributes directly to the nation’ economics. In other words, by being the host, a country is in all likelihood to attract a large number of atheletes, their supporters and fans from around the world who help increase the sales of products and services such as accomodation and transports. Moreover, significant expansion of quality infrastructure can be seen as the positive result of sport events. Nations are being compelled to invest in new sporting facilities such as swimming pools and stadiums and renovate old structures, such as highways and airports. On the other hand, there can be no doubt that holding these kinds of events involves not only security threats from the terrorists but also financial risks. A lot of money needs to spent on setting up the policemans in order to guarantee that the nation is completely under control. Furthermore, the process of preparation for international sporting events is often demanding in two aspects such as budget and effort. For example, the original budget approximately $14 billion was invested in World Cup, and that was a shock for the Russiam government and citizens. In conclusion, taking responsibility for hosting international sporting events such as World Cup brings a number of benefits to the country in terms of economics and tourist. However, there are still some drawbacks that should be taken into account.