In conclusion, there are various reasons why some employers prefer people with academic qualifications rather than those who only have life experience or good personalities and I think that it is a negative development.

In today’s society, some recruiters favour candidates who have formal academic qualifications over those with only life experience or good personality traits. This essay will look at some causes of this and I personally believe that this trend is totally negative. There are a number of reasons why some employers think that academic degrees are more important than work experience or personal qualities when they seek new staff. Firstly, they believe that candidates with an academic qualification are equipped with in-depth knowledge and useful skills which are necessary for their future jobs. As a result, these people could make greater contributions to their company than those without any formal qualifications. In addition, a student has to devote a lot of time and effort to his or her study in order to get a university qualification, which can somehow prove that this student is a hard-working and persevering person. In my opinion, this trend has many adverse effects. Many people who have various degrees still face difficulties dealing with their clients because of a lack of necessary skills and experience. This could not only negatively affect their work, but also cause their company to lose loyal customers. In addition, life experience helps people to deal with difficult situations more effectively, which helps improve work productivity. Personal qualities are also an essential factor that needs to be taken into account. Negative personalities such as dishonesty in the workplace, for example, could pose a serious threat to the development of any companies. In conclusion, there are various reasons why some employers prefer people with academic qualifications rather than those who only have life experience or good personalities and I think that it is a negative development.