Giving lectures in auditoriums to large numbers of students is an old way of teaching. With the technology available today there is no justification for it, and everything should be done online. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

It is argued that teaching many students in classrooms or lecture halls is outdated and instead, it should take place online. I totally disagree with this view because teaching online might be distracted from many students and in order to have a better learning process, teachers and students should communicate face to face. Learning online might be convenient, but it is easy also for students to get distracted from their lecture. This is because on the internet, students are not supervised and are exposed to numerous attractions, such as social media or various games, therefore, their whole attention will be on checking these applications which consequently will drop-off the educational level for a student. For instance, Udemy, an online learning website, said that only 12% of their students who purchase online courses manage to watch all their educational lectures due to the lack of supervision on them. In addition, having a conversation face to face is more beneficial than via a computer. When students have their teachers in front of them, they pay more attention and they can ask what they want. Moreover, they are supervised to pay attention and follow the lecture. Therefore, they develop their education in a better way. For example, a recent study by Cambridge University showed that, students who are learning online have lower grades than student who study in a lecture hall at university. In conclusion, from my perspective, online lecturing is a bad idea due to the fact that students may be detracted with ease, while face-to-face communication result in better progress for the students.