Give your thoughts on how to solve traffic congestion.

Over the last few decades, car ownership has increased sharply. As a result, many cities are now struggling with heavy traffic congestion. For instance, in Bangkok, especially at night, roads are so crowded that it takes a lot of time to move from one place to another by car. Given this situation, some people consider cities like these "one traffic jam. " However, to what extent does this phrase describe the reality? I strongly believe that this expression is depicting the challenges many cities are confronting. Other than Bangkok, which I mentioned above, I think many big cities (e. g. , Beijing, London, and Tokyo) are also facing difficulties in dealing with this challenge. Clearly, due to the rapid expansion of cars, thousands of cities are now looking for a solution to this issue. In order to solve this issue, governments have a vital role to play. It is especially important for them to provide alternatives to cars and simultaneously make it harder for people to drive cars in cities. For instance, if the government invests in public transportation, some people may prefer it to their own cars since public transportation is more affordable than cars. Furthermore, the government needs to decrease the number of parking lots in cities intentionally. This policy will make it less convenient for many people to drive cars. As a result of these two policies, governments will be able to reduce the number of cars in cities. , mitigating traffic congestion. Undeniably, governments should take these policies seriously in order to discourage people from using their cars. In conclusion, traffic congestion is indeed one of the biggest issues in cities. As the number of car owners increases, this issue is getting more pronounced around the world. Given this point, it is totally understandable that those cities are considered to be one big traffic jam. However, if governments implement a few measures to make other means of transportation more attractive, they will be able to takle this change.