Getting clear about what you want Getting clear about where you are now….

Letter to Self Imagine yourself in 12 to 24 months time: Where are you? What are you doing? How do you look? How do you feel? Describe yourself at your ‘peak performance’ (this can be at work, or at study). Then widen your focus to include other aspects of your life (eg family, friends, community). How do these different parts of yourself ‘fit together’. To begin with, one to two years ahead seems it’s just around the corner. From 12 to 24 months time from now, I believe that I would be a very different person from what I am today. I am really excited to see what I will become. In 12 to 24 months, I like to be seen as someone who will excel in my study, passing at least distinction grade on all the courses that I enrolled in. I also expect myself to have broadened my knowledge, I believe my study will provide me with a solid practical and highly quantitative contents which will help me to get a head start over other candidates when I graduated. Furthermore, I will also see myself taking a few of global opportunities, either getting an internship project or work project from different countries. This will provide me the unique opportunity to gain international exposures. I strongly believe spending time overseas can be an invaluable part of my journey. Finally, I would also like to see me making many friends and getting to know a lot of people coming from different background. Expanding international network has always been one of the reasons why I want to do this master degree in the first place. I believe studying abroad can give me the opportunity to connect with people from different cultures so that it can give me perspectives and ideas coming from different way of thinking. Part B: Now take an honest, unfiltered look at your current performance. You may find many things you are happy with, but there may be some things that you aren’t so happy with. What do you look like? How do you feel? How would you characterise your performance? Your priorities? Your commitment? Your motivations? Earlier in the above paragraph I mentioned about studying abroad and how it can impact my view of others who come from different background. However, this current pandemic situation has led to a decrease in my motivation since I can’t experience living there. But as the international student I need to refocus and try to understand the purpose and scope of my study. I also feel that I have not fully committed to this study yet. I believe there is always room for improvement. Furthermore, this is my first time being an international student and also first time studying online. I feel that I have not fully adapt into this situation especially my communication skills. Getting clear about what you need to do…. Finally think about the differences between Part A and Part B. Is your current performance going to deliver the plans you envisioned in Part A? What else could you be doing? How will your Master of Commerce degree contribute to those plans? What personal commitments do you make to ensure your success in your studies? I believe my current performance will not maximize the output of the plan that I have envisioned in Part A. To achieve what I have envisioned in Part A, I need to refocus and do several things. It all begins with setting goals and thinking priorities. I need to think about more than just being a student and think that I am also a person with desires, hopes and dream. Firstly, to significantly improve and broaden my knowledge, I need to stay focused and motivated. I need to have a positive attitude and enthusiasm towards my study. Moreover, as an international student, I need to be able to adjust to this situation and had to get used to this situation thus allowing me to perform above my current performance. Second, UNSW has a wide range of global opportunities that I can actually engage and enroll in. To get that international exposures, I will committed so that I could meet the requirements needed for the enrollment process. I also need to make sure that I have completed all courses requirement and assessable tasks to the satisfactory level required for the available opportunities. Finally, I need to be actively participate in the discussion so that I can get the chance to improve my communication skills and expanding my international network. Signed: …………………………………………. . Date: 02/18/2021