Gender Inequality at Work

Gender relations based on the patriarchal system have determined the various participation and contribution of women and men in every aspect of life. While this situation has caused profound gender inequalities, women have been affected by such gender relations in a multidimensional and intersectional way. Thus, gender-based inequalities have emerged and as a pervasive gender gap phenomenon in various types across the globe, and it will take almost 135 years to close the gap (World Economic Forum, 2021, p. 5). While this gap is deeper in many issues, it is close to attain in some gender parities. According to the latest data of the World Economic Forum (2021), it will take 145. 5 years to close gap in politics and 267. 6 years to close gap in economic participation and opportunity. Gender gap in educational attainment and health and survival are almost closed by %95 attainment in gender parity. Such data put forward that gender inequality in work and employment is the most challanging area. While the disadvantageous situation of women in terms of employment and work increases with the effect of the Covid-19 pandemic, future trends of jobs with the accelariton of automation and digitalization has become a new battle area for gender disparity (World Economic Forum, 2021, PP. 5-6).