Gender differences and bias in open source: pull request acceptance of women vs men

In this article, using Github data, claimed to be the largest software repository, gender bias in the open-source software community is investigated by analyzing the acceptance rate of pull requests submitted by female and male developers, which the gender is obtained through a novel gender linking technique using contributors’ social profiles. Although the results demonstrate the women’s high successful contribution, pieces of evidence have been put forward that bias against women still exists in the evaluated community. The research mainly intends to answer an analytical question: ‘To what extent does gender bias exist when pull requests are judged on Github? ’ To this end, researchers attempt to address if women’s pull requests are less likely to be accepted than men’s, in terms of several effects. Examining the status of all pull requests, results show an opposite direction of the initial assumption; women's pull requests are significantly more accepted than those of men. Since the results seem not to be in line with the hypothesis of gender bias in the field, researchers explain the results by decomposing it into evaluating different factors; the acceptance of women’s pull requests and its trend over time; risk-taking behavior, the focal point of attention, importance, and size of women’s pull requests; the complexity/readability of changes made in a variety of programming languages; and eventually, a sociology point of view as favoring women’s pull requests intending to help. Forasmuch as the results illustrate women’s pull request acceptance rate outpace men’s in almost all factors, observations draw researchers’ attention to a controversial decision to clarify even the possibility of reverse discrimination, and that is re-analyzing the factors by controlling covariates, keeping the similar data in both gender groups and removing the outliers, which to some extent acts as a data scrubber. While the statistical power is reduced because of the matching procedure, it controls the notable differences observed in light of mentioned factors. According to the results gained by reconsidering of factors in the reduced sample, it is shown that women’s pull requests acceptance rate drops when their gender is apparent despite earlier proof of their high-quality performance, which can be considered as evidence for the existence of bias against women in open source. Turning to inevitable results obtained in this study, women seem to be more competent than men in male-dominated occupations, which can be explained through different theories.