social media networking sites have negative impact on people

It is a general belief by the majority that the social media networking sites impact both the self and society negatively. Even though I partially agree with the above statement, I also feel that they have their own advantages too. These social media create platform to showcase talents which can easily be recognized by the millions of users. This in turn easily opens the opportunity door. People get a lot of exposure through these sites like Facebook, Instagram, Whatsapp etc, . This revolution has led to the phrase, ‘The world has shrunk’, which means anyone from anywhere can get to know what’s happening all around the world. On the other hand, these media interconnecting sites are very addictive which is considered to be dangerous where humans tend to disconnect with the people around as they are always connected via social media. This reduces the physical activities, thus affecting the balance of both physical and mental health. These are time consuming. One might fail to learn about his own surrounding or tend to lose the important things in life. Many incidents prove these social media to be life threatening too. One such example is developing a relationship with a stranger and end up getting cheated. It is natural that sweetness is liked by most of the people which is advantageous to the criminals who make benefit out of this. People easily believe what they see or hear. As a result, fake news can spread faster. For instance, the fake death news of a celebrity. So I would like to conclude stating that using social media networking sites is a boon if we use it to gain knowledge, expose talent or create opportunities. So it completely depends on the users and their purpose.