Education is one of the strong pillars of modern-day society, it is the building block of helping shape an individual’s professional life.

Education is one of the strong pillars of modern-day society, it is the building block of helping shape an individual’s professional life. Certain children after completing their academics at school, take some time-off from education to travel and gain some work experience rather then directly enrolling for higher education into university. Perceivably the biggest advantage of taking a gap to spend time working is the ability to gain practical experience. Many multinational companies hire students directly from the campus as this gives the companies a chance to look at fresh talent and helps students learn on-job skills. These organisations who hire direct freshers arrange intensive training programs to help the students develop competencies required in the professional environment for example I was recruited in a campus drive, but on selection the company offered me a month-long training to help me develop basic PowerPoint and excel skills which I was not taught in the school. These digital skills were extremely beneficial not only in my professional pathway but also help me develop as an individual. Students who take time off to travel are also able to learn a lot more about practical life skills and learn a lot more about the diversity around the world. However, on the flip side once students delay their education and start working it is very tough to get back to the academic side. Many students across the world who start their careers right after school are not able to leave their job and go back to campus. As time passes by a lot of students start having additional responsibilities of family and are never able to pursue higher education for example I started working right after completing my undergraduate degree, I had decided to work for a year and then go back to a master’s program. But it took me almost 10 years to start back on track of my dream of pursuing a port graduate course. To conclude, both directly going-off for higher education in university or taking a gap to gain some real-world experience brings some important benefits and enables overall development of the individual. Neither higher education or practical on-job exposure can replace on another.