Gap year for school graduates

In our recent years we witness high school graduates are taking a gap year before commencing college education. However this trend has its ups and downs and in this essay I will discuss the positive side and negative aspects of it. One of the advantages when students tend to take a year break is learning new skills that is on demand and which will eventually support them in their college studies. Like for instance they can prepare themselves to attend short courses according to their field of choice or depending upon their major of interest. Another essential point are that pupils may invest time in developing social and language skills. Exploring other countries culture will broaden their horizon and experience what people’s life is like, further more gaining new friendship which will lead to expand circle of acquaintance. Youngsters can also get enrolled in language institutes as learning a foreign language is on high demand not only for enhancing communication but it is required for businesses as a result it will secure their dream job and even get promoted. On the other hand, there are negative consequences in case a year off was not utilized in proper way. It can endanger children’s future and lose path. Instead of killing the spare time and benefiting most of it, they indulge in the addiction of drugs for example, due to bad influence from other kids of their age. Consequently, it will greatly affect their behavior and divert into the wrong direction specially if they are surrounded in such environment and in the end they get trapped in this vicious circle. Youth are the core of our society and future and progress of our nation lies on them. To conclude, having a gap year might sound a great idea and useful for our youngsters but if it is not planned well it could distort their future.