furthermore considerably, due to their large

furthermore considerably, due to their large surface area and properly-defined porous structure, mesoporous metal oxides, which include ZnO, SnO₂, TiO₂, WO₃, have become increasingly interested in gas sensing reactions, which offer many exposed active sites to have interaction with target gas and opens channels for the rapid diffusion and penetration of gas molecules. another case as newly emerging colorimetric materials for visual sensing applications, metal-organic frameworks(MOF) with adjustable colorimetric responses can be considered consistent with the design capability of MOF structures, kinds of MOFs with colorimetric properties acquire customizable via unique design and synthesis. MOFs are highly porous crystalline extended structures composed of metal clusters (or cations) with coordinated to organic ligands in an ordered pattern[329]. MOFs containing transition metal ions including iron, cobalt, copper, zinc, cadmium, and zirconium generally display color changes and tunable colorimetric behavior in response to various target analytes. target analytes adsorbed by MOFs with open metal sites can change the coordinate environment around the center of the metal ion, and a change in the d-d ion transfer of the metal ion can cause a visible color change. in comparison to discrete metal ions or chromophores as colorimetric probes, MOFs have advanced structural stability because of their coordination network. placing chromophores in voids or on MOF surfaces is another manner to design colorimetric materials. Such chromophore / MOF structures additionally show more stability because of the protection supplied through the framework within the chromogenic reaction. further, intrinsic porosity, open metal sites, and Lewis acid/base sites MOFs can accommodate and preconcentrate guest analysis, hence increasing detection sensitivity. similarly, the rational adjustment of MOF pore size for the adsorption and separation of small guest molecules via size-exclusion effects permits selective detection of particular targets. eventually, MOFs can be effortlessly converted to film on numerous hard or flexible layers with suitable uniformity due to their crystalline nature, which could be very beneficial for making sensing devices. because of the above advantages, MOF-based colorimetric measurement systems have outstanding stability, sensitivity, selectivity, and simplicity of assembly, and we can be optimistic that MOFs with tunable colorimetric properties should have a brilliant future in sensing applications [330, 331].