from vietnam social prejudices to glass ceiling

Looking at Vietnam, there are still countless social prejudices that apply to women, becoming invisible barriers that are present whether they are at home or at work. In the family, influenced by Eastern culture, stereotypes about the role of women make the wife often not have a decisive voice in the family. A survey also shows that, when talking about obstacles in career, the reason that many women mention is that men do not adequately share the responsibilities of housework and childcare with them. . At work, the invisible barrier is the notion that men are stronger, more assertive, that women do not have the ability to lead like men. According to Valentina Barcucci (ILO Vietnam), gender stereotypes in the minds of managers can be a barrier for women to advance into leadership positions. This contributes to the formation of rigor in the assessment, appointment and promotion of women. In addition, another common stereotype - the motherhood stereotype - makes people often picture women who are or plan to have children with limited work capacity and commitment to work.