Parents often believe it is better to be safe than sorry. Do you consider young people to be too protected?

The idea of having children for young couples is frequently thought of as having little versions of themselves running around. As much as it pleasantly sounds like a perfect family, responsibility always comes after. It is what causes most parents to shield their children from hard knocks in life. Nevertheless, having too much of a good thing applies to all scenarios, and excessively caring for the kids is no exception. An authoritative system is sometimes applied in the household to ensure the children completely obey their parents’ instructions. Strict rules posed by the legal guardians time and again put the young in discomfort. Asian couples are notoriously known to be harsh on the kids and would use “spanking” to treat insubordination. Their mind is set to think that what they do is best and would protect the youngsters. However, a survey conducted on 1071 adolescents in Incheon, Korea in 2020 shows the opposite. The study demonstrates that all students in the authoritarian parenting group have a propensity towards committing suicide. Thus, adults tend to shelter their offspring yet it might be too much of a good thing. Adults gain experiences the hard way and no one wants their precious miniature copies of themselves to go through what they have to. Many parents give the child everything that they did not have when they were a kid and must always ensure that the child is happy and to have all things provided to them. Online research by parenting. com found that mothers spend an average of $271 per child to get them a present on a holiday and 10 percent of them spend up to $500 on a child to get him what he wants. Yet sparing the rod also means spoiling the child. Being unreasonably providing to teens does not mean they would end upright. Grown-ups would usually compare their kids with their friends. This creates sometimes unhealthy competition, making the parents force teenagers to be flawless, hence the disproportionate care. Asian mothers, or “tiger moms”, are occasionally known to push their child to high achievements by forcing her to join extra classes and study without break. If the child’s results are not as expected, he would suffer “spanking” and disregard from his mother. A barrier would be formed in the family consequently. As such, wanting a kid to be perfect is as well unduly guarding. Despite this, many families where protection is placed moderately thanks to understanding couples. Some parents have ‘been there, done that” so they acknowledge the effect more-than-enough care might do on the young. A study was conducted by Patricia L. Greene in 1971 at Ouachita Baptist University on 34 homes with lenient parenting styles and 34 with disciplined. It was found that 32 percent of kids from permissive homes show mature social skills while only 9 percent in households with the other parenting style do. Civilized parents still carry the thoughts that their descendants are vulnerable and thus require utmost attention. However, this brings about more harm than good to both the child and the parents.