From good to great and build to last

What happens after a great company is built? Will they continue their greatness or will they let it fade and disappear? What makes great company different from the others is not only by its level 5 leader, ability to put the right person on the bus, the Hedgehog concept or the three circles but also its core values. The Good to Great process is the prequel of Built to Last and the core values is mentioned as the shift from a company with sustained great results to an enduring great company. As humans cannot live without food and water, we agree that profit it the main purpose of a company. But it is just essential part of life, not the very point of life. An enduring great company exists with its core values. vCore values of a company is the set of guiding principles and fundamental beliefs that help a group of people function together as a team and work toward a common business goal. These values included technical contribution, respect for the individual, responsibility to the communities in which the company operates and a deeply held belief that profit is not the fundamental goal of a company. They do not have to be unique, they should be what your company wants to see in itself and its employees. Remember what we learned about Packard’s Law, “No company can grow revenues consistently faster than its ability to get enough of the right people to implement that growth and still become a great company. ” We can attract good people to work for our company, but keep their loyalt to the work is an another problem. Creating a business is a bit like creating a community. A community is existed with a purpose. That purpose will lead to the community’s culture and action, attract whom you choose to invite in and how it function. Those holding a company need to share their vision, convince employees by actions by following the flywheel effect to make them join in the good to great process. To do this, we have to discover our core values and purpose beyond just making money and combine this with the dynamic of preserve the core/stimulate progress. There is no “right” core value for becoming an enduring great company. The point is that you know and have your core values, how you will adapt them into the business, make your organization express it clearly and preserve them over time. The world is changing day by day, following its practices. You have to change your strategies and practices but the core values must be consistent. To preserve your core values, you need to embrace your key concept of preserve the core and promote your progress. As what Disney do during its build and development. Every Disney products, from cartoons to full length feature animation to new Disney venture, preserve the “Disney Magic”, keep a constancy of purpose – bring happiness to millions, especially children. Core values are as the soul of a company. It is reflected in company’s strategies, actions and practices. Company need to preserve it as long as adapt to the changing world in order to be come great and enduring great company.