Free access to the internet for unemployed people

Our lives have become more digitalised than ever. Looking for employment is not an exception. It is almost impossible to find a job without the access to the internet. If the government wants to avoid the burden of unemployed people, it should not simply subsidise them, but above all help them to become employees. Therefore, it seems evident that providing unemployed people with a free mobile phone and a free access to the internet would be beneficial. The capacity of the internet to connect people makes it a useful tool to provoke social mobility. Unemployed people are often poor and living among others with the same problems. Their capacity of leaving such environment and finding a job is limited. Developed countries support them financially. However, this support may be counterproductive. The society looks on them as parasiting on the system. Given that they often have their own personal problems (e. g. in family) which led them to the poor situation and they feel the hatred against them from the society, they lose hope. If the goverment provided people with a free access to the internet with job opportunities, these people may be more encouraged to give it a try. This would be beneficial both for them and for the society. It is worth noting, however, that the internet has dark sides. People become increasingly dependent on social media and games trying to get their time. If the government give unemployed people new tools for free time, they can become even less motivated to do something with their situation. Thus, it might be better to give them access to the internet but at the same time decrease the money they receive. This would be better understood also from the point of view of the tax payer.