Fossil fuels, such ad coal, oil and natural gas, are used in many countries. But in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy, including wind and solar power, has been encouraged. Is this trend a positive or a negative development?

Energy, the world’s largest industry, is undergoing a massive shift, and it does not seem to be slowing down. Humans are shifting the way fuelling the evolution, from a contaminating fossil fuel system to a clean renewable one. This shift looks promising in the long-term development, however, has many challenges in next decades. On the one hand, shifting the economy’s fuel from fossil based on renewable sources is an enormous challenge, but the shift is already underway. Recently, investments in renewable energy generation worldwide surpassed fossil fuel investments. In the near future, onshore and offshore winds are expected to increase together with larger utility-scale solar panels. As a result, record investments are being made in this industry, generating millions of jobs and economic prosperity. And in turn, saving our planet from catastrophic climate catastrophes. On the other hand, renewable energy sources are inconsistent and stable, even at their best. The sheer magnitude of the battery storage capabilities required to power even a single city during insufficient energy-generation conditions is daunting. Simultaneously, the pollution effects associated with creating solar panels, manufacturing wind or hydroelectric turbines, and with creating the materials needed to store large amounts of energy are tremendous as well. Even what is touted as green energy does not avoid drawbacks. Nevertheless, an alternative energy source can be the nuclear option. Nuclear fusion as a power source has never been given the necessary funding to develop it to fruition, but it’s the one physically possible solution to our energy needs with no obvious downsides in the short-term, if the potential for disaster is mitigated. In the conclusion, renewable energy is a positive development in the long-term, but it still contains limitation in the near future due to the lack of technologies. Until then, humans need to target other alternative energy sources to replace fossil fuels.