Fossil fuel, such as coal, oil and natural gas, is extensively used in many countries which cause harms to the environment. The use of alternative sources of energy, including wind and solar power, however, is being encouraged in many countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

From the beginning of the industrial age, mankind has been using fossil fuels like coal to power its machinery. This has lead to an extensive use of these perishable sources of energy. Many would agree that this unrestricted usage has taken its toll on the environment and many nations are considering other sources of energy namely solar, wind and tidal energy as an alternative to keep their machines running which is a positive development towards protecting mother nature. Fossil fuels, also known as conventional sources of energy, cause a lot of pollution not only after using them but also during its mining. The smoke and harmful particulate matter released during their combustion causes massive damage to the atmosphere, creating thick blankets of smoke over cities known as smogs. And when these effluents mix with water sources, they also contaminate it leading to death of species living in the water. However, advancement in the method of their usage has helped to lower its side effects, but the damaged caused over a century of using fossil fuels, is very difficult to recoup. Also the sources of these conventional fuels are getting exhausted and all nations are resorting to alternative sources. As a result, many nations and big corporations have started exploring alternative sources of energy which include Solar Energy, Wind Energy, Tidal Energy and many more. These are known as non-conventional sources as they are inconvenient to use in day to day life. Moreover, these forms of energy come with their own set of problems such as requiring huge energy storage devices, large areas for generating sufficient power, difficulty in meeting fluctuating demands and many other complications. Regardless the complications, engineers and scientist are working to develop technologies which can harness these sources effectively. In conclusion, countries around the globe researching about different clean sources of energy, is the right step towards protecting the environment and sustaining the future for mankind.