Universities Should Accept Equal Number Of Male And Female Students In Each Subject

Nowadays, universities are growing and receiving more students every year, due to the increase of tertiary education. Therefore, is common that applicants for the different subjects are whether male or female, in comparison with decades ago, when mostly men attended to education in general. On my opinion, as education is becoming more accessible, and luckily, female rights are more respectable than before, universities should accept every applicant that fill the requirements, despite the gender of the person, so the number of female and male ought to be equal for their subjects. Many people may think that some professions are adequate for only one gender, for example, women are better in the field of education, and men are better for engineering. This is a belief based on the amount of people that follows a career in a determinate field, it is demonstrated that women tend to study subjects related to the humanistic areas, and men follow the mathematics area. Despite of that, this does not mean that this fields must only accept people of the gender that is more common, neither that in their subjects, should provide preference to a gender over the other. Moreover, nowadays is rising the number of women that decide to study on fields related to physics and mathematics, and more men that study on humanistic areas. In consequence, I believe that must not exist a discrimination when accepting applicants to subjects in a career, as the gender does not speak about the intelligence and skills the person has. For instance, in my undergraduate studies, I had classmates that were equally men and women, for a career that belonged to an humanistic area, and both, female and male, had variated abilities that did not related to their gender. In conclusion, every person must have the opportunity to enrol to a subject and have the same probability of being accepted that people of the other gender, because the abilities and skills people have can be seen within the path, and not in advance depending on their gender.