Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a students performance. Continual assessment suggest course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. with this statement.

There is a discussion going that academic tests are the only product method to check students achievement. However some argue that regular assessment such as project and course assignment is unsatisfactory way to do this. In my opinion I am neither against examinations or disagree with daily assessment method as both play an important part in learning. Discussing over examination it is the one of the good method to segregate student on their efforts which they made throughout the course. Student which did regular studies and short his problems in the course will get a chance to perform better in examination that will give give boost to his career and confidence. On one hand those students which didn't studied regularly throughout the course. These test will show their efforts and give them a chance in upcoming exams to improve their scores. Looking into a example teacher distinct student in class on the basis of performance that did in class. If there are two students one with good scores other with low scores, it will be a reflection of efforts they made in the course. But I will disagree to this that it is the only way to determine students performance. As sometimes it might be going through health issues depressive moments and family pressure which affects their examination score. Talking about regular assessment which are related to course module such as project and course work. This shows the teacher as well as a student effectiveness of lecture delivered and what they gained from it. The projects and assignments helps both professor and student because it will make them understand where they are lacking and what improvements they can make and also teacher can get an idea that if they have to change his or her approach of delivering lectures. Therefore course assignment also give chance to every individual if they couldn't able to give examination but through these projects and course work they can be assessed. This would create a better environment for learning with less pressure on individual. Moreover totally relying on on it is not a solution that is why every 6 month exam should take place so that student can be distinguished on efforts they made. At last I would conclude by saying that there can be different methods to check students performance but if we balance both it would benefit everyone student as well as teacher. We should not be relying on one thing instead use both test and regular assignments to check academic success of student because different individual have different strong points.