Forests produce fresh oxygen and participate in regulating climate But every year the tree cover of our planet is lessening due to deforestation What are the primary causes of deforestation To what results may it lead

Plantation of trees plays a significant role in the regulation of climate. However, due to cutting down of trees at a larger scale has put the atmosphere of planet haywire. The following essay will shed light on the causes and effects before making a final conclusion. There are many causes behind deforestation. One of the major causes is urbanization. In the pursuit of providing facilities such as high rise buildings, incredible infrastructure, efficient transport and communication systems, and so on trees are axed to pave way for the development. Recently some of the forests were being transformed to smart cities which enhance the overall quality of the lives of citizens. However, repercussions are already been seen. The surface temperature of those cities has shown a rapid increase. In addition, the overall pattern of rainfall has got affected which has kindled scarcity of water. The other cause that has triggered the removal of trees is agricultural expansion. Owing to a rise in population, the demand for agricultural products has shown a sharp increase. Woods are cleared for the cultivation of different food crops. Consequently, effects such as soil erosion and floods are visible. The survey of one reputed environment agency has shown that jungles which are cleared off for farming have augmented the risk of nearby living areas. Moreover, it has spiked the exploitation of land to meet the demand. As a result, grazing has gone for a toss thus has inflated the fodder prices for such animals. To sum up, urbanization is the need for an hour but not on the cost of the environment. Depletion of forests can provoke the natural hazards which can be detrimental for living beings.