for the reason that implementation

for the reason that implementation of impermeable pigments in color sensors is not simple, some host materials ought to be used for making the nanoporous pigments through the sol−gel approach. Nanoporous pigments can be created to enhance the sensitivity, durability, stability, and hydrophobicity of colorimetric sensors. Ormosil sol-gel matrix with high stability, large surface area, and proper hydrophobicity is an outstanding porous matrix that is not suffering from changes in relative humidity from 10 to 90%. adding a plasticizer to polymer-based colorimetric films will increase the hydrophobicity of the polymer matrix in addition to protecting towards moisture. Inorganic films with nanoporous structures such as TiO₂-based nanoporous film as a substrate can be another opportunity to reduce moisture interference in colorimetric sensing structures. Hydrogels are a group of promising soft materials with highly water-swellable three-dimensional hydrophilic polymer networks, which can be extensively utilized in sensing. Hydrogels can act as a host matrix to immobilize sensing probes and adjust the diffusion of analytes into the sensor network.