For many young people today, shopping is their favourite free time activity. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time?

Nowadays, Shopping is a significant activity for many young people to spend time with friends, family or individually. Some people think that young people should do different activities rather than shopping in their free time. This essay will examine why many young people are passionate about shopping. Firstly, fashion is a massive trend for young people these days. What they wear or have is becoming the tool to show their status. I believe that social networks such as instagram, facebook or snap chat influence this phenomenon. Especially because seeing young people check those social networks hourly or even every second to see what their friends do or to what they do? , and they tend to judge their value. On the other hand, shopping is a great way to spend time with friends, family or individually. As I mentioned, most people are spending their times on social networks. Considering that, the shopping activity helps for people to stop the habit and, spend time with friends and family in person. For example, when I was a student, we used to go to the shopping mall to hang out with friends after school. Even though we did not have much money to spend, although we walked around the mall together and had conversations which are still memorable. However, some people think that young people should do different activities such as swimming, playing tennis or any other sport. Personally I believe, they may be valuable for young people to develop physical skills or maintain their health rather than going shopping. In conclusion, young people gain confidence and social skills on from shopping, on the other hand, sports activities need to be considered to maintain their health. In order to keep this balance, young people should be encouraged to do both activities.