For many years, handwriting has been a vital part of a person’s primary schooling. However, recently there has been a shift to typing. Should schools still require handwriting in school? How necessary is it to write by hand in today’s society?

The spread of information technology in recent years has meant that writing is less important than it used to be. This essay will discuss the necessity of writing by hand today, and consider whether it should be taught in school. First of all, of the way we use writing to communicate has changed significantly. Now, the majority of written communication takes place through a computer or a phone. For example, people type emails, or chat through apps such as Whatsapp or social media like Facebook. Communicating in this way allows people to send and receive messages instantly and at a much lower cost. As a result, while of course it is possible for people to write and send handwritten letters, this has become much less popular than it was in the past. In fact, governments, businesses and all other social institutions are choosing to type their messages instead of writing them. This means that although writing may still be a useful skill to have, it is certainly no longer as necessary as it was before typing existed. As a result of this, learning how to write in school is far less important than it used to be. It is natural that our children's education should change in accordance with what they will need to do when they are older. Schools should still teach children how to write, because this helps young people learn to form words and organise ideas, but less time should be spent on this, and more time should be spent on learning to type as well. This will give children a more balanced education that better suits the needs of modern life. In conclusion, modern communication requires the ability to type. Therefore, although handwriting is of less value than it was in the past, I believe it is still valuable and it should still be taught in schools.