For many employers, formal academic qualifications are becoming more important than experience? Why is that? Is it a positive or negative development

In recent years, it is undeniable that academic qualifications are considered a more crucial factor than experience in terms of the recruitment process. Although this trend can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions should be done to address this due to its negative implications on both society and individuals. There is a myriad of compelling reasons why academic qualifications are prefered these days, among which the primary one is that it reveals not only academic prowess but also their personalities. Firstly, since university curriculums provide students with in-depth knowledge with the purpose to generate a quality workforce for the labour market, academic qualification holders, especially top achievers, are well-equipped with sufficient specialized knowledge. This means that they are able to devote more to the enterprises compared to other candidates without any degrees. Furthermore, to obtain a degree, it is mandatory for students to exert themselves to rigorous study as the tertiary programme are challenging and demanding. Therefore, these students are usually hard-working and tenacious, thus, their productivity tends to be better. Although this trend appears attractive, the negative impacts brought about by it on society are becoming more evident. First of all, emphasis on formal degrees may discourage students from developing their interpersonal skills and accumulating hands-on work experience, thus, creates an unskilled workforce. Moreover, if employers have a propensity to recruit applicants based on their degrees, it will be a misleading perspective that people are only required to pass exams to have jobs. A typical example of this case is that in Vietnam, the unemployment rate has been increased among fresh graduates due to their lack of experience. In conclusion, there are various reasons why some employers prefer people with academic qualifications rather than those who only have the life experience or good personalities and I think that it is a negative development.