For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and Math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skills be made as fourth skill to the list.

Skills needed by the employers keep on changing. Hence, education system needs to evolve. Reading, writing and maths has been the most important pillars and with the advent of computers, there have been arguments to make this the fourth pillar. I agree with this view. However, this could have some negative effects on the children. Computers can impact the cognitive abilities of the children. It offers a great range of applications in the fields of reading, writing, calculations etc. The use of such applications at an early age can prevent kids from attaining the basic knowledge of communication and calculation. For example, instead of learning tables and performing calculations with their minds, they rely on the calculator application. Similarly, with the applications such as spell checker etc. , kids refrain from learning the correct words and grammar. On the contrary, it has become very important to gain computer skills these days. IT sector has become a big sector in the whole world, which generates millions of jobs every year. Thus, there are better job opportunities for people with the professional computer courses. Furthermore, most of the government institutions and companies rely on the computers for their work. For instance, in India, you can apply for passport online and get an appointment. Even the employees use computers to scan the documents, fill the applicant related data, print the reciept etc. Therefore, this is a must have skill irrespective of the work sector. To conclude, even though computers may hamper the cogniyive abilities of a child, there is no doubt that it has become must for us to include this skill in the education system. This will enable kids to get jobs.