For a successful company, selling products depends more on company’s reputation or it depends more on if they provide discounts and offers.

In today’s world, there is high competition between companies to sell their products to the customers. To be successful in their specific field, some companies rely on creating a brand with reputation while others rely on providing discounts and offers. Building a brand with reputation to gain consumer loyalty and trust in the company’s commodity takes years of hard work while being consistent with the quality of the product. For example, popular brands like Nike and Adidas are able to gain success and have consumer loyalty and trust even though their products are comparatively expensive by providing quality products. On the other hand, smaller companies depend on product discount and offers for the sale of their products so as to build a customer base. Due to these sales and discounts customers try the products and this then leads to customer loyalty or trust in the company’s products. Sometimes during sales companies provide discounts in various forms, but still manage to keep the company in profit with an expanding customer base and increased sale. For example, if a company is advertising for a product like shampoo, they tend to give offers like getting a conditioner free or get another shampoo at half cost, etc. In my opinion, the success of a company depends on the discounts and offers that the company provides as it can also be the first step in building a brand.