It Is Inevitable That As Technology Advances Traditional Cultures Will Be Lost

An increasingly digital world indeed has advantages as well as certain disadvantages / downsides associated with it. These are widely visible in our culture and traditions. I partly disagree with the statement that technology and culture cannot thrive together. I believe that although some customs and values are lost, technology has helped in making some other traditions stronger. Firstly, technology has ignited the power of traditional values and have made them more prevalent. To illustrate, there is a website in India called Shaadi. com that facilitates traditional Indian way of arranged marriages of eligible couples. Another example is of the Indian tourism websites, which acquaint foreigners with India’s rich culture and diversity to lure them to visit the country. Through these examples, it is safe to say that because of technology, traditional cultures are now far reaching, thriving and have impactful presence. Thus, traditions and technology can succeed in tandem. Consequently, due to a surge in the adoption of technology, some of the traditional values are being lost. One example of it is the plummeting family values amongst youth. They prefer to spend more time online than physically with their families. For instance, in a survey by Times of India, 50% of Indian youth living in urban areas spend more than 6 hours a day online, which means little family and study time. Undoubtedly, family values have been weakened by technology. To conclude, technological advancements come with opportunity cost. It benefits a society by making certain traditions and customs more powerful and prevalent. On the other hand, it takes away some of our old societal values.