Food travels thousands of miles from farmers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for our environment and economy if people consumed locally produced foods.

Due to modernisation and globalisation, people are able to consume foods from various sources which has finally led them to prioritize local foods for their own goods. In my opinion, I believe that it is the advantages that outweighs the disadvantages. This essay will demonstrate that consumption of locally produced foods will benefit in terms of health along with deflation in food price followed by a primary disadvantage of shortage of foods. First of all, foods that are produced locally by the farmers are more healthy than the imported products. In other words, foods which are imported goes through packaging and is shipped to a vast distance which causes degradation in their nutrition values thus posing a higher risk on people’s health. However, this possible risk is widely reduced when people go and buy fresh foods produced by their own people. Secondly, the production of foods within a country territory will ultimately reduce their market price. In terms of imported foods, they are more likely to be expensive due to the fact that they are imposed with various costs like shipping charge, TAX, Sales TAX and packaging cost. But, for local industries, these factors ar absent which result in cheap rates in the market. For instance, it was found out that clothes costs three times more than the original price when imported. Those opposed to this say that it is almost impossible for a country too produce all necessary foods within its own border. However, it is not certainly true because when citizens consume foods from their local economy, this causes rise in national income and growth of more national industries hence eliminating the food shortage. For instance, Russia generate electricity more than they require and even exports to China all by itself. In conclusion, the fact that a country will experience less health issues and decrease in food price clearly outweighs the flawed arguments that people will face food scarcity.