Food travels thousands of miles from farmers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for our environment and economy if people consumed locally produced foods.

It is often thought that in recent times, people have a plethora of choices to make about several issues of life. Personally, I utterly concur with this standpoint because of huge advancements in technology, which has made life easier, and breakthroughs in the field of medicine. To begin with, scientists have made giant strides in science and technology. Consequently, people now lead more comfortable and enjoyable lifestyles compared to the past. For instance, with the advent of faster means of transportation such as air transport, people can choose whether to fly or travel by sea or road. However, in the past, there were fewer means of mobility such as road and sea transport which were time-consuming and uncomfortable. More so, the medical field has experienced an enormous growth which had markedly improved the health and longevity of many nations. In other words, modern medicine has provided remedy to medical challenges that old traditional medicine could not solve. As a result, people can opt for the best medical services available. To illustrate, surgical procedures which require invasive manipulations can be performed laparoscopically with minimal trauma to patients. Therefore, people now have a wide range of choices to choose from with regards to their health and general wellness. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly agree that people have numerous alternative ways to achieve their various objectives and goals in life because of scientific breakthroughs and progress in the field of medicine. Thus, it is recommended that people use the best available means to achieve their goals.