Food consumption behavior of young adults in Thailand during Covid-19 pandemic

This research will cover the topic of food consumption behavior of young adults in Thailand during the Covid-19 pandemic, focusing on the aged between 18-30 years old in the past 6 months. Food is an important requirement for a human to sustain their life, however, food consumption behavior of human gradually change throughout their lifetime depending on the change of both internal and external factors which are various, such as personal preference and country’s economic situation. Food also helps connect people, there are many situations where food is involved and the amount of food consumption per meal is also influenced by the atmosphere, activity while eating and the people one is eating with. According to Kessuvan (2020) previously, Thai people often consume the food based on their emotional value more than the functional value which means Thais consume food based on the taste and their preference more than the quality of the food, by saying the quality of the food, in this case, means the nutrition and the cleanliness which should be the crucial factor that one should consider when it comes to something that one needs to consume. Since the huge disruption of the COVID-19 pandemic in early 2020, all the businesses and people around the world got affected including the food consumption of Thai people, as for now Thais are entering into the adaptation of the “New Normal” lifestyle, Thais are now concerned more about heath which caused the food consumption behavior of Thai people shifted from emotional-based to functional-based, highly digitalization which generates the different ware of food purchasing behavior (Kessuvan, 2020). The covid-19 pandemic has changed many aspects of consumers' lives such as socially and economically. This research aims to find a better understanding of the impact of the pandemic on food consumption behavior of young adults aged between 18 to 30 years old in Thailand during the past 6 months.