fixed punishment viewpoint

Governments and countries should define certain punishments for every particular crime. It's very important, because it warns the people, if they break a certain rule, they will face punishments. So what I think is, it's necessary to define those punishments for general situations. But we have to pay attention to details and circumstances for each person. Some people believe that the punishments should be fixed and unchangeable. For example, many Muslim people in my country think that for every murderer, the judge should consider the death penalty as their punishment. And considering the Islam point of view, I can see their mindsets and I can start to understand their perspective on this. But what I believe is that we should consider all the details before we let ourselves decide for a person's life. We should try to find the motives. As an example, if a person kills a serial killer, we shouldn't act like he is just like the person he killed! Not at all. I'm not trying to justify the fact that killing is sometimes good. I'm not saying that everybody is allowed to become a vigilante. I'm saying there should be a difference in each case. In the end, I should say that whatever I think does not matter. Rules become valuable once we as a society, all accept them. It's important to fight for justice and teach criminals some right manners. We should consider all people's views on this particular discussion and decide what to do to make our society, a better and safer place.