Fitzgerald argues that the American Dream is intended to destroy us because even though Gatsby obtained many of the things he wanted, he still never got his dream; even when he was trying to make his dreams come true, he was destroying the people around him to get it, which ultimately led to his own destruction.

During the argument, Tom brings up Gatsby’s past and what his job is around Daisy, he looks “as if he has ‘killed a man’” in response (Fitzgerald 134). The foreshadowing here is when it is said that Gatsby looks like he kills someone. This is significant to the American Dream because it alludes to the idea that Gatsby has to kill someone to complete his dream: living with Daisy. While one may not necessarily have to kill anyone to achieve their dream, Fitzgerald illustrates through Gatsby and Tom fighting that one will destroy the people around them. At the beginning of the book, Gatsby buys a yellow car, and after Myrtle is killed Tom is told that “a yellow car” did it (Fitzgerald 140). The yellow car is used as foreshadowing throughout the whole book; it is part of Gatsby’s dream to live rich and happy with Daisy. Since Fitzgerald uses this car to illustrate a part of the American Dream, when it is used to kill Myrtle Fitzgerald shows that no one can have complete happiness with the American Dream.